Wednesday, October 24, 2012

World Cinema Guide: Mexico (45 Greatest Films 1929-2005)

When I say ‘greatest’ in the title above I mean ‘most critically acclaimed, based on a consensus of opinion’ and for details of how I established that - and why this list only goes up to 2005 - please see ‘World Cinema Guide: Introduction’. 

In the alphabetical table of contents at the right you will also find similar lists for many countries: World Cinema Guide China, World Cinema Guide France, World Cinema Guide Germany etc

Note that within this list there is in effect a ‘best of the best’ list: the most critically acclaimed 10-20% of films from this country are marked with a *.

1933 Woman of the Port* (Arcady Boytler, Raphael J. Sevilla)
1935 Let's Go with Pancho Villa* (Fernando De Fuentes)
1936 Over at the Big Ranch* (Fernando De Fuentes)
1936 The Wave (Fred Zinnemann, Emilio Gomez Muriel)
1941 Passion Island (Emilio Fernandez)
1943 Flor Silvestre (Emilio Fernandez)
1944 Maria Candelaria* (Emilio Fernandez)
1946 Enamorada* (Emilio Fernandez)
1946 The Pearl* (Emilio Fernandez)
1947 Rio Escondido (Emilio Fernandez)
1949 Peblerina (Emilio Fernandez)
1950 Los Olvidados* (Luis Bunuel)
1952 El (Luis Bunuel)
1952 El Bruto (Luis Bunuel)
1954 The Adventures of Robinson Crusoe (Luis Bunuel)
1954 Wuthering Heights (Luis Bunuel)
1955 Raices* (Benito Alazraki)
1955 The Criminal Life of Archibaldo De La Cruz (Luis Bunuel)
1959 Nazarin* (Luis Bunuel)
1960 Macario* (Roberto Gavaldon)
1962 The Exterminating Angel* (Luis Bunuel)
1962 The Important Man (Ismael Rodriguez)
1962 Tlayucan (Luis Alcoriza)
1965 Simon of the Desert* (Luis Bunuel)
1971 Reed : Insurgent Mexico (Paul Leduc)
1982 Erendira (Ruy Guerra)
1985 Dona Herlinda and Her Son (Jaime Humberto Hermosillo)
1986 Empire of Fortune (Arturo Ripstein)
1986 Frida (Paul Leduc)
1991 Cabeza De Vaca (Nicolas Echevarria)
1991 Danzon (Maria Novaro)
1991 Homework (Jaime Humberto Hermosillo)
1991 Love in the Time of Hysteria (Alfonso Cuaron)
1991 Woman of the Port (Arturo Ripstein)
1992 Angel of Fire (Dana Rotberg)
1993 Cronos* (Guillermo Del Toro)
1995 Midaq Alley* (Jorge Fons)
1996 Deep Crimson (Arturo Ripstein)
2000 Amoros Perros* (Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu)
2001 De La Calle (Gerardo Tort)
2001 The Devil's Backbone (Guillermo Del Toro)
2001 Y Tu Mama Tambien* (Alfonso Cuaron)
2002 Japon* (Carlos Reygadas)
2004 Duck Season (Fernando Eimbcke)
2005 Battle in Heaven* (Carlos Reygadas)

No comments:

Post a Comment